Peter Rabbit Animation Book Series Review and Competition

The Tale of Peter Rabbit is one of the first books I remember from my childhood. The stories of Peter Rabbit and his friends are timeless and loved by many. When CBeebies started showing Peter Rabbit an animated series I was delighted.

Peter Rabbit is a character that children will be able to relate to, in a story based around friendship, the programme stays true to the feel of the original books while ensuring the storylines are still engaging and appeal to all. The animations are about Peter Rabbit and his friends in the beautiful Lake District where they go on plenty of adventures whilst having a lot of fun.

A selection of books have also been released based on the animation series, the books are colourful and easy to read stories. We have been lucky enough to be sent a selection of the books to review.

Peter Rabbit Books

The books we have been sent are Peter Rabbit Animation: Let’s Go! Sticker Story Book, Peter Rabbit: Treehouse Rescue! and Peter Rabbit: Happy Christmas!    

The sticker story book is full of people and places from their world, the book contains plenty of stickers, over 150, which you can add to scenes, there are games and lots of activities included in this book. I really like this sticker activity book, it tells a lovely story and we enjoyed doing the activities together, E thought It was great fun putting stickers on whilst reading the story.

Sticker Book

We were also sent The Peter Rabbit Club, a book with lovely colourful pictures and the story is about  how Peter and his friends embark on a brave and dangerous quest for a secret clubhouse to escape the clutches of the hungry fox, Mr Tod. To help him on his adventures, Peter is never without his cousin Benjamin Bunny and their good friend Lily Bobtail.

Th Peter Rabbbit Club Book

The book is fun to read and the colourful pictures captivated E and she kept pointing out Mr Tod when we came across him. This is definitely a story book that would appeal to most ages, I find it a joy to read. At the back of the book there are suggestions on how to make your own secret clubhouse for both inside and outside. I am sure the blankets will be coming out soon to try to make our own secret clubhouse.

The other book we have been sent is Peter Rabbit :Happy Christmas. This Christmas story is about the troubles Peter Rabbit gets into whilst trying to deliver Christmas presents, luckily his friends are there to help him out in this little adventure.

Peter Rabbit christmas book

This book is a board book, which is great for little fingers. The pages are really sturdy and colourful and as there are not too many words on each page it makes this short story great for younger children. E loves this book the most, I think it is because it is a Christmas story, she spends a lot of time looking at this book on her own.

The Animated Peter Rabbit Books are wonderful, I cannot fault them, amazing stories, great pictures and they stay true to the original book. I whole heartedly recommend adding these books to your child’s book collection.

There is also a great website where you will find lots of activities and games to play, there is also lots of news from Peter Rabbit and friends in their burrow. Peter Rabbit Club

For more information and to buy these wonderful books head over to the puffin website.

I am also able to offer my readers the chance to be able to win a set of the three books I have reviewed, all you need to do is enter using the gleam app below.

The competition is open to UK only and ends on the 4th December 2014 at 11.59pm. Daily Entries available.

Mum, Thats me!

Disclosure – We received the books to review, however all thoughts and words are my own.

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

Share Button

Share:

155 Comments

  1. Samantha R
    November 25, 2014 / 11:05 am

    The Jolly Postman

  2. Tracy Nixon
    November 25, 2014 / 11:32 am

    How To Catch A Star by Oliver Jeffers – such a lovely story that every child and adult can relate to! Beautiful illustrations too!

  3. Fiona K
    November 25, 2014 / 11:38 am

    Jack And the Beanstalk because it was a great escapist and fantasy read

  4. Emma Hogg
    November 25, 2014 / 11:43 am

    The Rabbits Wedding by Garth Williams
    Beautiful story of two little bunnies and a wonderful innocent friendship that turns to love and a quaint little wedding. Such a simple story but so beautifully written. Ive had this book for 30 years, my mother read it to be and I have read it to my two children I would love for them to find happiness in the way these two little bunnies did.

  5. christine shelley
    November 25, 2014 / 11:44 am

    The tiger came to tea – kids learnt it word for word and they always drifted off to sleep with it

  6. debbie smith
    November 25, 2014 / 11:46 am

    hello there what a lovely prize
    everybody loves peter rabbit
    goodluck everyone 🙂

  7. Rachael Lines
    November 25, 2014 / 12:01 pm

    We love lots of books, we don’t have a favourite – anything bright, interesting and fun to read is well welcomed by my little ones.

  8. nicci cowdell-murray
    November 25, 2014 / 12:19 pm

    the three little pigs

  9. Lorne Bedford
    November 25, 2014 / 12:23 pm

    The Elves and The Shoemaker because it’s magical and kind

  10. Ms Suan Watts
    November 25, 2014 / 1:00 pm

    Peter Pan because it was so magical

  11. Caroline H
    November 25, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    My favourite is Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I’ve always loved it and still do. It’s a really inventive story with such lovely, if crazy characters.

  12. sofia ramos
    November 25, 2014 / 1:23 pm

    the very hungry caterpillar

  13. Nichola Mackay
    November 25, 2014 / 1:40 pm

    Me and my boys love the Roald Dahl books

  14. ashleigh allan
    November 25, 2014 / 1:50 pm

    The tiger who came to tea – it reminds me of being little!

  15. Jessica Powell
    November 25, 2014 / 1:56 pm

    Town Mouse and Country Mouse – it teaches that not everyone has the same outlook and opinions

  16. EMMA WALTERS
    November 25, 2014 / 2:05 pm

    i’m loving the snow bunny at the moment, magical christmas story 🙂

  17. iain maciver
    November 25, 2014 / 2:25 pm

    the tiger who came to tea great reading

  18. becki miller
    November 25, 2014 / 2:41 pm

    Dear zoo. My little boys absolutely loves it!

  19. Maxine Owen
    November 25, 2014 / 2:44 pm

    Lots of Thomas the Tank Engine

  20. elaine dale
    November 25, 2014 / 2:51 pm

    we all like room on the broom because it sounds such fun to ride on a broom altogether

  21. Holly S
    November 25, 2014 / 2:51 pm

    My favourite is The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson because I loved it so much when I was young.

  22. MichelleD
    November 25, 2014 / 2:55 pm

    The magic faraway tree, i loved it! It was a great read, magical!

  23. Stacey Tripconey
    November 25, 2014 / 3:08 pm

    Little Rabbit Foo Foo as it is very funny!

  24. jade brookes
    November 25, 2014 / 3:22 pm

    the book i can remember reading over and over when i was younger was ‘The Twits’ by Roald dahl. Loved it

  25. Kristy Brown
    November 25, 2014 / 3:48 pm

    I always liked the little red hen as i believe it teaches children an important lesson

  26. laura stewart
    November 25, 2014 / 5:00 pm

    Alfie’s new red shoes- mum use to read it to me all the time

  27. Julie D
    November 25, 2014 / 5:19 pm

    Richard Scarry book, brilliant

  28. Sarah JG
    November 25, 2014 / 5:20 pm

    What the ladybird hear, love my son’s face when we read this

  29. Sophie
    November 25, 2014 / 5:30 pm

    In the Night Garden and Mr Tumble are my sons fave books 🙂 xx

  30. Natasha M
    November 25, 2014 / 5:35 pm

    The worst witch books 🙂

  31. Susan Sargent
    November 25, 2014 / 6:06 pm

    My grandson loves Dear Zoo

  32. katie w
    November 25, 2014 / 6:56 pm

    I loved the Jolly Postman and you got little letters to open

  33. Andrea Williams
    November 25, 2014 / 6:59 pm

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar

  34. Lisa Howlett
    November 25, 2014 / 7:00 pm

    Cinderella ,its a true classic

  35. Joanne Hutchings
    November 25, 2014 / 7:04 pm

    He loves The Gruffalo especially because he has the touch and feel version.

  36. ann clements
    November 25, 2014 / 7:06 pm

    I loved the secret seven because of all the adventures they had

  37. LESLEY BRADLEY
    November 25, 2014 / 7:23 pm

    The Faraway Tree books-loved them as a little girl and made me into a bookworm,hopefully my kids will be the same!

  38. Helen Atkins
    November 25, 2014 / 7:37 pm

    Green eggs and Ham Dr Seuss, my sons favourite at the moment and we have so much fun with it.

  39. laura banks
    November 25, 2014 / 7:56 pm

    it was a book my mum used to read called mervyn the mouse it was ace she used to do all the voices

  40. sarah razzell
    November 25, 2014 / 8:41 pm

    I love books so much and want to try and share my love with my children. I love all the Beatrix Potter book, Jemina Puddle Duck was my favourite.

  41. Jo Wakefield
    November 25, 2014 / 9:00 pm

    Monkey Puzzle – By Julia Donaldson, we read it every night before bed.

  42. Anthony Harrington
    November 25, 2014 / 9:29 pm

    The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe, the first book that was more words than illustrations that I read and started my life long love of reading.

  43. Rachael O'Mara
    November 25, 2014 / 9:36 pm

    What the ladybird heard by Julia Donaldson

  44. maggie ali
    November 25, 2014 / 9:36 pm

    some dogs do. my daughter loves dogs so we’ve read it million times, both know it by hart but she still requests it every evening

  45. Lynsey Buchanan
    November 25, 2014 / 9:40 pm

    Stick man as she knows all the words

  46. Jackie Rushton
    November 25, 2014 / 9:53 pm

    Rupert bear because i loved reading about his adventures!

  47. Aimee L
    November 25, 2014 / 10:05 pm

    James and the Giant Peach because I remember my Mum reading it to me and my Sister and the feeling of excitement I had from it! Lovely being tucked up in bed and listening to a loved one read to you…..and I love reading to my boys 🙂

  48. Kim Neville
    November 25, 2014 / 10:08 pm

    The very hungry caterpillar as a lovely book I liked reading as a child and now my kids do

  49. Kelly L
    November 25, 2014 / 10:20 pm

    We love the Gruffalo, fabtastic story!

  50. Kirsten Barthy
    November 25, 2014 / 10:36 pm

    Pipi Longstockings as she had real girl power

  51. Sandra Lane
    November 25, 2014 / 10:57 pm

    I loved all the fairy tales and my favourite was Rapunzel

  52. Rick Carr
    November 25, 2014 / 11:09 pm

    Hungry Caterpillar

  53. S Gunn
    November 25, 2014 / 11:38 pm

    winnie the pooh :3
    Not a clue why just loved Eeyore and Roo :3 :3

  54. Kym Robson
    November 26, 2014 / 12:49 am

    After the Storm (Tales From Percy’s Park) by Nick Butterworth

  55. lia sturman
    November 26, 2014 / 2:56 am

    What the ladybird heard

  56. rachel bustin
    November 26, 2014 / 7:28 am

    Roald Dahl’s Charile and the Chocolate Factory because its really fun and magical and teaches kids about values as well x

  57. IRENE BOLTON
    November 26, 2014 / 10:10 am

    The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe, because it’s magical.

  58. sherri mse fordham
    November 26, 2014 / 10:11 am

    THE GRUFFELLO ITS JUST SUCH A CLASSIC CHILDRENS BOOK

  59. Lorraine Foster
    November 26, 2014 / 10:41 am

    The Twits by Roald Dahl because it used to make me laugh to much as a kid.

  60. Ben Audsley
    November 26, 2014 / 11:06 am

    postman pat – because his balck and white cat, jess is awesome!

  61. Zoe
    November 26, 2014 / 11:31 am

    I love Beatrix Potter books- especially Tale of Peter Rabbit. It was a favourite of mine when I was young and is now a favourite of my daughter. It’s nice to share favourite stories etc.

  62. Corinne Henson
    November 26, 2014 / 12:34 pm

    My son Loves the Lorax we have read it so much we can recite it with out the book 🙂

  63. Stacey M
    November 26, 2014 / 2:09 pm

    Our favourite children’s book is shark in the park because my children can join in and it’s very catchy 🙂 xx

  64. Allison sullivan
    November 26, 2014 / 2:23 pm

    when i was 10 my friend bought me enid blihhtons faraway tree and i read it over and over and truly loves it. a friend of mine asked to read it and i never got it back.2 years ago my husband found the book and bought it for me for christmas and i love it

  65. sarah rees
    November 26, 2014 / 6:38 pm

    the very hungry caterpilllar

  66. Lynn Heath
    November 26, 2014 / 6:46 pm

    The book I love to read to the kids is called the mummy shop, as I do lots of silly voices and they always say we wouldn’t swap you mum!!!!!

  67. Julie Henderson
    November 26, 2014 / 10:22 pm

    the faraway tree to excape day to day reality

  68. Felicity Kelly
    November 26, 2014 / 11:33 pm

    I loved The Malory Towers series because it made boarding school sound so much fun!!

  69. Laura Stirk
    November 27, 2014 / 1:09 am

    My kids love a book called Teddy takes a Train!

  70. Shauna Reeves
    November 27, 2014 / 5:46 am

    luv these books

  71. Phil Oneill
    November 27, 2014 / 6:01 am

    The Hungry Catapiller

  72. Corinne Peat
    November 27, 2014 / 12:41 pm

    The Gruffalo because my son loves me to read it to him.

  73. Michelle Sykes
    November 27, 2014 / 6:15 pm

    The faraway tree – I loved it and my kids do too

  74. KIRSTY THOMPSON
    November 27, 2014 / 8:22 pm

    room on a broom, my son loves the story and how it rhymes

  75. leigh boyle
    November 27, 2014 / 10:49 pm

    the lion the witch and the wardrobe x

  76. Michael Williams
    November 28, 2014 / 1:10 pm

    treasure Island

  77. angela
    November 28, 2014 / 5:57 pm

    heidi because I would imagine myself in another country

  78. Kat Lucas
    November 29, 2014 / 12:18 am

    I love all the Dr. Seuss and Green Eggs and Ham is the favorite in our home right now

  79. charlotte arnott
    November 29, 2014 / 8:56 am

    I love Charlotte’s Web. It’s a lovely story about friendship and helping others.

  80. Andrea Fletcher
    November 29, 2014 / 2:37 pm

    Giraffe’s cant dance.

  81. leanne weir
    November 29, 2014 / 5:19 pm

    Peter Pan – it is timeless

  82. clair brown
    November 29, 2014 / 10:01 pm

    I loved the Jolly Christmas Postman when I was younger, it wasn’t just a book, it was a book plus a lot of other fun stuff. I even bought it for my daughter as I thought it was such a fab book.

  83. Victoria L
    November 29, 2014 / 10:06 pm

    The Jolly postman – loved opening up all the letters.

  84. Pam Francis Gregory
    November 30, 2014 / 10:16 am

    Father Christmas by Raymond Briggs – Fun for kids & adults!

  85. Michelle Phillips
    November 30, 2014 / 3:47 pm

    I used to love the Mr Men books when I saw younger 🙂

    Then when I got a little bit older I loved The Babysitters Club series hahaha

  86. Kimberley
    November 30, 2014 / 4:00 pm

    The gruffalo

  87. fozia
    November 30, 2014 / 7:18 pm

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar as it reminds of my childhood

  88. Danielle Graves
    November 30, 2014 / 8:20 pm

    Jake likes any book with Thomas the Tank or dinosaurs in but his favourite book is The Gruffalo

  89. Victoria Cunniff
    December 1, 2014 / 9:31 pm

    Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – my auntie bought it me from a jumble sale for 20p, I loved it so much. I read it that many times that it fell to bits but I stuck it back together with cellotape

  90. Rachel Butterworth
    December 1, 2014 / 9:48 pm

    The Very Hungry Caterpillar- a simple story with lovely bright images.

  91. rachael jones
    December 1, 2014 / 10:07 pm

    The tiger came to tea, he just loves tigers !

  92. December 1, 2014 / 10:47 pm

    Jack And The Beanstalk. 🙂

  93. Farhana
    December 1, 2014 / 11:17 pm

    The first experiences by Usborne

  94. Andrea Miles
    December 2, 2014 / 8:24 am

    the hobbit – I read it when I was 7 & I’ve reread it too many times to count – a great story

  95. December 2, 2014 / 2:24 pm

    The Night Watchmen by Helen Creswell, because it was spooky and I loved it.

  96. lyn Burgess
    December 2, 2014 / 6:18 pm

    At the moment we are thoroughly enjoying The Gruffalo’s child.I like it because it gets my little girl so excited, and I like the drawings too.

  97. Clare H
    December 2, 2014 / 8:44 pm

    Guess How Much i love you – lovely story that I love reading to my toddler

  98. samantha price
    December 2, 2014 / 9:20 pm

    the three little pigs is cool

  99. Charlotte rawlins
    December 2, 2014 / 9:20 pm

    Me and my son love the very hungry caterpillar

  100. Kerry Lethbridge
    December 2, 2014 / 10:00 pm

    The faraway tree by Enid blyton because it’s magical

  101. Julie Ward
    December 2, 2014 / 10:06 pm

    The bobsey twins, it was their adventures, most prob boring for kids now

  102. Dinah Butcher
    December 3, 2014 / 4:26 am

    That is am impossible question for me, we love so many children’s books! As a child i was a huge fan of anything by Hans Christian Anderson or the Brothers Grimm.

  103. December 3, 2014 / 7:52 am

    The Tiger Came to Tea is always a favourite when I read to my Grand-daughter

  104. lara davis
    December 3, 2014 / 8:58 am

    the faraway tree as used to read it with my nan

  105. lucinda duxbury
    December 3, 2014 / 9:41 am

    i love the gruffalo, it is such a fab story, the little mouse manages to evade all the predators and even scares away the big monster! it never fails to put my daughter to sleep

  106. Jenny Harper
    December 3, 2014 / 10:12 am

    Most books by Julia Donaldson. I would go for “Room on the Broom” as our absolute favourite.

  107. Laura Pyper
    December 3, 2014 / 10:24 am

    red rocket and rainbow jelly,it was fab for helping zara remember her colours

  108. Jade
    December 3, 2014 / 11:45 am

    Monkey puzzle as the pictures are great

  109. Holly G
    December 3, 2014 / 12:13 pm

    I had a book my mother bought me. It was a dolls house wedding book, It has Little things you can pull out of it like the wedding invitation etc. It is just beautiful and i still have it now 🙂

  110. anita hargreaves
    December 3, 2014 / 1:05 pm

    all enid blyton books, i am 46 and when young, i loved the faraway tree and the sishing chair and tales from toyland, you used your imagination . m 16 year old grew up listening to these tales and is thrilled it is being filmed x

  111. anita hargreaves
    December 3, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    all enid blyton books, i am 46 and when young, i loved the faraway tree and the wishing chair and tales from toyland, you used your imagination . m 16 year old grew up listening to these tales and is thrilled it is being filmed x

  112. Stephen Little
    December 3, 2014 / 2:54 pm

    Treasure Island – fantastic story.

  113. lucy higgins
    December 3, 2014 / 3:17 pm

    any books by roald dahl or enid blyton!

  114. PAUL STANLEY
    December 3, 2014 / 4:00 pm

    PETER PAN – AS A CHILD I COULD IMAGINE MYSELF UNDERTAKING ALL THOSE ADVENTURES

  115. Hue Lu
    December 3, 2014 / 4:46 pm

    My daughter loves The Tiger Who Came To Tea …. she made me read it to her so much that she actually knows the story off by heart!

  116. Rebecca Powell
    December 3, 2014 / 5:19 pm

    I love The Gruffalo

  117. Maria Jane Knight
    December 3, 2014 / 6:47 pm

    I love Alice In Wonderland – it is the first book i really got lost in as a little girl 🙂

  118. Clare S
    December 3, 2014 / 7:35 pm

    We are going on a bear hunt – such fun

  119. Lisa Houston
    December 3, 2014 / 8:10 pm

    The hungry caterpillar. she just loves readying everything he ate

  120. Laura Bobby
    December 3, 2014 / 8:52 pm

    I love you this much – it’s a lovely story and we like to act it all out

  121. Jacqueline Chapman
    December 3, 2014 / 8:54 pm

    I love Billy goats gruff because it’s my son’s favourite

  122. Angela Paull
    December 3, 2014 / 9:26 pm

    Oliver Jeffers’ – Stuck 🙂

  123. helenthemadex
    December 3, 2014 / 9:55 pm

    the gruffalo

  124. Sarah Parker
    December 3, 2014 / 9:57 pm

    each peach pear plum – very lovely book 🙂

  125. Emma Davies
    December 3, 2014 / 10:25 pm

    My favourite was the Magic Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton. My boy loves Giraffes cant Dance

  126. Laura Loo
    December 3, 2014 / 10:32 pm

    My favourite book as a kid was Heidi

  127. Irene Gilmour
    December 3, 2014 / 11:52 pm

    last few weeks it father christmas needs a wee daughter finds it funny its also helping her with her numbers

  128. December 4, 2014 / 1:02 am

    Richard Scarry, BUsy Busy World, we loved reading it as children and now I read it to my son, hes mesmerised by the illustrations.

  129. Colette Sheeran
    December 4, 2014 / 1:31 am

    The Big Book of Bedtime Stories by Enid Blyton. When I was little and our house was burning down us kids got woken up in the night to evacuate but I would not leave without that book. I remember being in a neighbours house late at night eating pineapple chunks with my brother and sister and still clasping that book to me as the firemen across the road fought the blaze.

  130. Jane Middleton
    December 4, 2014 / 1:36 am

    The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery because it has some very wise ideas in it.

  131. nicole
    December 4, 2014 / 1:41 am

    Charlotte’s Web, Wonderful story!

  132. Michelle Moloney
    December 4, 2014 / 5:20 am

    The magic faraway tree because there were so many fantastic places in it

  133. Pauline Burroughs
    December 4, 2014 / 7:43 am

    The Magic Faraway Tree, a great story and you can escape reality for a while x

  134. Heather Tinkler
    December 4, 2014 / 9:38 am

    The curious little kitten – it was soo cute and exciting

  135. Hayley Davies
    December 4, 2014 / 10:17 am

    room on the broom,its my daughters favourite

  136. lynn neal
    December 4, 2014 / 10:59 am

    The Secret Garden

  137. Holly Hadjigeorgiou
    December 4, 2014 / 11:24 am

    I love the Owl Babies, a childhood favourite of mine.

  138. emilia nastaly-howard
    December 4, 2014 / 12:10 pm

    Sleeping Beauty…. I loved it since I was a kid. Good memories 🙂

  139. Gemma Chantler
    December 4, 2014 / 12:11 pm

    I love “Guess how much I love you”. It was read to me as a child and I now read it to my little girl.

  140. Zoe Roxby
    December 4, 2014 / 12:43 pm

    Wind in the Willows my boys love it the fact that animals can talk and act like people amazes them. Their favorite character is Mr Toad in their words ” because he is silly and funny just like dad”

  141. Cheryll H
    December 4, 2014 / 1:39 pm

    We’re Going on a Bear Hunt – it’s so interactive and involves children of all ages 🙂

  142. Adrian Clarke
    December 4, 2014 / 2:04 pm

    Maka paka because my twin girlies love him.

  143. Jennifer Wlodyka
    December 4, 2014 / 2:28 pm

    Spot! I loved these books as a child.

  144. Kirsty Woods
    December 4, 2014 / 4:40 pm

    Snow White, its a classic

  145. dawn thompson
    December 4, 2014 / 5:34 pm

    Enid blyton- the far away true. As a kid i loved the idea of all the amazing food they had!

  146. Sarah Cadman
    December 4, 2014 / 7:23 pm

    The tiger who came to tea, reminds me of my childhood days and being naive and thinking everything was possible!

  147. Caroline Howard
    December 4, 2014 / 8:33 pm

    The Gruffalo it’s lovely to read

  148. nicola atkins
    December 4, 2014 / 8:40 pm

    I love The Enormous Turnip and 3 Billy Goats Gruff

  149. Di Fryd
    December 4, 2014 / 8:50 pm

    Monkey Puzzle is a fave

  150. siobhan marie
    December 4, 2014 / 8:54 pm

    dinahs packed lunch when i was younger i got the chance to interview jaqualine wilson and i use to re read this book all the time

  151. Emma Beckett
    December 4, 2014 / 10:28 pm

    The Jolly Postman is my fave as it’s nice to have something interactive.

  152. Rebecca Phillips
    December 4, 2014 / 11:00 pm

    The Smartest Giant in Town. its such a great book about selflessness.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge